The travel map will change again

The Ministry of Health has updated its travel map as of Monday, based on the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) data. Due to the spread of the omicron variant, there are stricter rules for the entry of foreigners, and there are shifts of countries within categories.

The green category of countries with a low risk of infection includes Romania and the Vatican. Among the non-European countries are Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Korea, Kuwait, Macao, New Zealand, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Peru, Rwanda, Taiwan, Uruguay, United Arab Emirates, and the United Republic of Uruguay.

No country is currently in the orange category of medium-risk countries. Bulgaria, Finland, Latvia, Hungary, Austria, and the Azores are the red category of high-risk countries.

The remaining countries are in the dark red category, with a very high risk of infection.

Czech citizens who have been vaccinated or have had a COVID in the last 180 days must complete an arrival form when returning to the Czech Republic. In addition, unvaccinated people returning from red and dark-red countries must undergo an antigen or PCR test to return if they use public transport. After entering the Czech Republic, these people must also undergo a PCR test on their return to the country no earlier than day five and no later than day seven.

Foreigners without a residence permit must have a negative PCR test before entering the Czech Republic.

The only exception is for foreigners vaccinated with a booster dose if they have been vaccinated in a country whose certificate is recognized by the Czech Republic. Specific rules apply to children and adolescents under 12 and 18 years of age.