Slavia Prague takes the prize yet again


The Slavia Praha team won the Czech First Football League this season again, for the third time in a row.

After today’s League match in which Sparta drew with Liberec 2-2, Slavia has the title of the League champion regardless of subsequent matches.

Tonight, Slavia will also play Plzen at 19:30.

Slavia has become the top league champion three times in a row for the first time in the history of the independent Czech Republic, established in 1993 after Czechoslovakia’s split. It has gained a total of 21 titles of the league champion together if those won during the existence of Czechoslovakia are counted as well.

Sparta Praha won the Czech top league five times in a row in 1997-2001.